Jeremy Asher

When the Heart Breaks


When the Heart Breaks (Ashbrook Pines, #1)

When the Heart Breaks

Book One of the Ashbrook Pine Series

A chance meeting on a bus? Could it really be that simple? Can such an encounter truly bring about life-changing events?

On a cold winter day, during what had become his least favorite time of year, that’s what happens to Nick Founder. And he realizes it’s time to put the pain of the loss of his wife and daughter away, in a safe place, but not one that consumes his every waking moment.

Taylor Landon is a thirty-something waitress, working her way through college while raising her son, Brett. The only thing missing is her husband, a loving man and wonderful father who lost his life in a senseless tragedy nearly a year ago. During that year, Taylor has learned how to wear a smile in front of her friends and son to mask the broken pieces of her heart. But inside, she aches. Raising a son alone is hard. She wants a strong man in her life again, but she wonders if she’ll ever meet the right one.

For Nick and Taylor, two lost souls, their pain is the common denominator that brings them together. But will secrets of their past tear them apart? Life and death, love and grief, and loss and gain accompany Nick and Taylor as they find themselves on a journey that neither saw coming, forcing them to ask one question…is love enough?

When the Heart Breaks is the first book in a new series called Ashbrook Pines.